133: Slope

133 slope

Rolling with deja-vu, Sisyphus-like, upwards, heading for level ground, the incline sets my whole body at a new slant. I look towards the clouds, not the horizon, and the feeling that I might suddenly launch like a gull is palpable. Wheeling to flight, a take-off spring-board runway that fuels hopes and then dashes them, as the limits come suddenly back into view and the legs that won’t carry me are once more in my field of vision.

Keren Dibbens-Wyatt 2015

 

Leave a Reply

