48. In stitches (potential)

48-in-stitches-potential

My name on this piece is the first cross stitch I ever did. It was something done at primary school, but I didn’t take it up as a hobby till after I became ill in my twenties. When I was at my worst, it was about the only thing I could do, albeit very slowly. Consequently, most of my friends and family have pieces in their houses, some are even on display.

Just in time for Christmas 2016, I finished what is my last cross stitch (for now at least). It was a present for my husband, and I did not enjoy making it at all, it was a struggle for my middle-aged eyes and a bore for my now far more active brain. It took me four years and I was very glad to finish it, and it is a little more intricate than the one above! I got a lot of enjoyment out of this craft overall though, and it helped me through some really tough bedridden/housebound times. There was potential even in that little piece of red Binca.

But perhaps, also, sometimes potential is in the realisation that comes from setting something down, the space that is made when we set aside a thing- an activity or habit from our lives- in order to turn to something new. Stitches too, have their seasons.

Photo and text © Keren Dibbens-Wyatt 2017

Leave a Reply

