65. Glamour Model (Empathy, Lent 6)

65 glamour

This really is a hard one for me to get my feminist head around. But here goes.

It’s my body, and what I do with it is my choice. No-one has control over my sexuality and how I choose to express it. The system is always going to be against women so I might as well squeeze what I can out of a world that is going to judge me by my body anyway. I like the attention I get and it boosts my self-esteem. I like the feeling of power it gives me. I like the money too. I know some women think it’s wrong, but I find it liberating. I think the world can be prudish and I’ve got it so I’m flaunting it. When I’m older, my bank account and I will be glad I did.

All valid points, seen in a certain light, and leaving out the effects it all has on the patriarchal system and on other women. This view is one I see a lot, and if you want to know what I think about it, you can read my book Positive Sisterhood! But though the sexual exploitation of women makes me sad and angry, my anger is rarely directed towards the girls (they often are girls) and women involved. As with most oppressive things, it is inherent in the system, as Monty Python cheerfully tells us (whilst being flagrantly sexist itself within the accepted parameters of the time). But yes, looked at individualistically like this, I can totally understand and empathise, and this will help me to find better ways of explaining my own stance, as well as stop me sitting back in judgement.

Photo and text © Keren Dibbens-Wyatt 2017

 

Leave a Reply

