105. Outside and Inside (Juxtaposition 5)

DSC00365

Trapped inside by this illness, I have found my inner world far larger than I could ever have imagined. Sometimes though, stepping out into the world, even into our tiny back garden, the size of “outside” is overwhelming. The sky, particularly, which enables us to envisage freedom wherever we are, is mind-blowingly huge. Feeling now the same way about the vastness of creativity and universe of love and prayer inside of myself, there is some comfort in the smallness of the inside of my house, my bedroom (where I spend 99% of my time) and even of my body, in its reassuring constant confines of size and shape. We are creatures of cell and shell, in lots of ways, and need that boundary between inner and outer worlds.

text and photo © Keren Dibbens-Wyatt 2017

Leave a Reply

