133. Joy (light 6)

light 4

I find light filtering through into my life a joyful thing. When depression strikes, many people find the need to shut out the light. We draw the curtains and find somehow the false crepuscular half-light suits our mood better. Bright light can be simply too much, harsh or blinding, and this goes for those of us who suffer with processing disorders too. Lots of times during my illness I have needed to protect my eyes against the sunlight and artificial light in shops when my brain simply could not take it on board. Soft light, dappling through a curtain, or trees, or both, as here, has a gentle sweetness that lifts my spirits.

text and photo © Keren Dibbens-Wyatt 2017

 

Leave a Reply

